Why create a Hearthstone Simulator? The story behind why.

Before I spend time talking about how the simulator works and how to use it effectively, I’d like to give a little history as to why I was motivated to create it in the first place.

A few months back, I was pretty into Hearthstone and trying to figure out how to adjust my decks to perform better, and how to build good decks from scratch. I knew some of the basics of deck construction (like a proper mana curve and trying to choose cards that compliment one another), but actually putting that into practice was tricky.

More than that, the bigger problem was that actually testing any of my deck-building ideas took so much time. I had to first decide what cards I wanted, then win enough games to buy cards, dust the ones I didn’t need, and then make the cards I wanted. Then I had to play several games with real opponents to get a feel for whether the deck was any good.

To top things off, since the ladder system in Hearthstone adjusts to your wins and losses, it’s hard to get a real absolute measure of your deck’s strength. For example, if you loose enough games you’ll eventually be put against players who have bad deck-making skills and bad tactics. Just because you win those games, it doesn’t mean your deck is any good.

So one day I thought to myself – what if I could estimate whether one deck was better than an other by using a simulator that mimicked the rules of game? 

One reason I enjoyed and immediately got addicted to Hearthstone was that it was quite similar to Magic: The Gathering, which is a (physical) collectable card game that has managed to maintain some level of popularity since its creation in 1993. While it shares some of the basic concepts with Hearthstone, such as ‘mana’, ‘spells’ and ‘creatures’ (equivalent to Hearthstone ‘minions’), the rules are greatly simplified. For example, Hearthstone doesn’t contain any ‘land’ type cards and minion cards’s effects cannot be activated at will. In fact, except for secrets, there is no way the other play can interject in the middle of your turn. This makes the number of possibilities, and number of rules drastically simpler in Hearthstone, and was one of the reasons I thought making a computerized simulation was even possible.

Another reason I decided to actually attempt to build such a simulation was because a little searching around on the net didn’t show any similar apps or websites out there. There are a bunch of ‘deck managers’ and ‘Arena simulators’ but I never came across anything that actually simulated the game play-by-play. (After trying to develop one myself I finally figured out why – It’s quite a challenging task!)

I’ve always been into simulations since I was younger so I decided to put that passion, some coding skills, and my interest in Hearthstone into something that I hoped would turn out to be a lot of fun.

I think I’ll leave it at this for today, but please be sure to check out Deck Simulator for Hearthstone on the Apple App store!

 

Leave a Reply

